Who We Are

Welcome to the online home of Carleton University’s Disability Research Group. Founded in 2013 by three members of the Disability Studies Committee at Carleton, we are a thoroughly interdisciplinary team from a wide range of scholarly and professional backgrounds. Our group presently includes two engineers, a defence scientist, a social worker, a librarian, an independent living specialist and three historians. Our mission is to investigate the ways in which disability studies, technology and history interrelate, largely through researching and designing virtual exhibits.

The Carleton University Disability Research Group includes the following people:

Co-Primary Investigators:

Adrian D.C. Chan, Professor, Department of Systems and Computer Engineering, Assistant Vice-President (Academic), Chair of Advisory Board for READ Initiative

Roy Hanes, Associate Professor, School of Social Work

Dominique Marshall, Professor and Chair, Department of History

Sreeraman Rajan, Chair of EMBS IEEE Ottawa Section, Tier II Canada Research Chair, Department of Systems and Computer Engineering

Dr. Beth A. Robertson, Instructor, Department of History, Member of IEEE History Committee

Dr. Dorothy J. Smith, Department of History

MacOdrum Library Liaison: George Duimovich, Associate University Librarian (Collections & Technology) and Head of Systems, MacOdrum Library

CNIB Liaison: Richard Marsolais, Independent Living Specialist, Canadian National Institute for the Blind

Doctoral Research Assistants: 

Sandy Barron, Doctoral Candidate, Department of History

Masters Research Assistant: Hollis Peirce, Masters Student, Department of History, Concentration in Digital Humanities

Research Administrator and Technical Advisor: Brittany Clayton, undergraduate, B.Mus, Music department

IEEE Advisor: Barbara Waruszynski, Chair of SSIT, IEEE Ottawa Chapter

Research Associate: Dr. Ryan Patterson, Independent Historian.

Rebecca Rob, ethics and philosophy.


The CUDRG is pleased to announce that the Landon Pearson Centre is now one of our partners.

Swail Sensor